My friend never studied during college, but now he has a great job and recently he became a millionaire. How is this possible?

Why the dumb guy in your high school is richer than you.

Answer by Adrian John Cartwood:

My friend never studied in college. In fact, at our high school, he was voted Least Likely To Succeed.

Yet, just last month, I bumped into him again after 20 years. We recognized each other straight away.

Only, I was getting out of my BMW, but he was getting out of his Ferrari.

Naturally, I was a little surprised/curious (with just a hint of jealousy?) …

… so, after the initial pleasantries were over, I jumped right in:

Me: "Looks like you've done pretty well for yourself, what do you do?"

Him: "I specialize in buying old rolls of material from fashion houses and selling them at various markets at a 3% profit."

Me [eyeing his Ferrari again]: "3%?! That doesn't sound like much margin to run a business on."

Him: "Oh, I assure you, it's plenty! I buy the material at $1 a yard and sell it at $3 a yard. That's 3% …"

Disclaimer – Old story, great moral: you don't need a college degree to succeed in business … just do it 😉

View Answer on Quora

Leave a Reply

